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The Honerable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation

500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590 Q) 7

FpucsA-200-9797

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382- %

Dear Secretary Mineta:

[am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain wraffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has ditferent laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that sormeone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of cernain
traffic viclations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only atter the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,
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The THonorable Normman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rufe recently {ssued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safery Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or cenain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
cormunercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period ~ for example, if | receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disquatification of a COL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be'ut stake!
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The T{onorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Dacket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issucd by the Federal Motor Carrier Safery Admuinistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than g@g@n&ﬁﬂkﬁﬂwi&m a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver i convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- ar S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from cperating a CMV for hus/her entire lifetime, even if the second
-offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own perscnal vehicles isu’t fair,

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle, This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV dnving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!
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The Honorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admuinistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someane who just had'a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - far example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
autherized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges

only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/ler non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -
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The Tonorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIVMICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. 1 strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, reoardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under thus new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period ~ for example, if I receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her n0n~commercxal drivers’

license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely M

ber Tcmter Local




[Date] a/~ /J a7

The [Honorable Normman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

! am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 46742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers' license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ficket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.,

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver 1 convicted of a DW1, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from cperating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
tratfic viclations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket—
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only atter the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely,
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The IHonarable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20550

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. Istrongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued hy the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ Jicense.

With respect to the DW1I offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driveris convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or S-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- aor S-year suspension from a secound conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic viclations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket—
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges

only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!
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The [Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

l'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- ar S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - far example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress. which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!
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The T{onorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
SO0 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20550

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

['am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driveris convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for tus/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense accurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personat vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress. which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. ‘

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!
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The IHonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FNMCSA-2000-7382

Dear Secretary Mineta:

1 am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has ditferent laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if I receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Sweet, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admunistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ficket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isa't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if I receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
oply after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!
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The Honaorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIYICSA-2001-9709 and FIVMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license,

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic viclations within a 3-year period - for example, if | receive mare than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FIMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job ¢ould be at stake!
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The [Honorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washingtan, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) it he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether iy State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of'a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own perscnal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am canvicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period ~ for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job ¢ould be at stake'

Sincerely, -
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
S00 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

{ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has ditferent laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from cperating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 1S or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly aot the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMYV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely,




[Date] [/ -/(-03

The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Sueet, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIMCSA-2001-9709 and FIV{CSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admunistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating 2 CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 1S or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period ~ for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearlv not the intent of Congress, which
autherized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a COL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,




[Date] /"/{ df

The [{onorable Nonman Mincta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Stwreet, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoaod of Teamsters. [strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different taws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

e

Member, Teamster Local ‘Zag
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

| am 2 truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driveris convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to & 3- or S-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of cerain
traffic violations within a 3-year penod - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

; /l\i!imbei T, TZ%R:‘ Loéﬁ ﬁa— 6
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The Honorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
S00 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

l'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admuinistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain waffic violations, such as more than one speeding ficket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in 3ome states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- ar S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxa] drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!
Sincerely, Wf\

Member, 'qc:amster Local _#/ C:)é
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The THonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-ZOOl-Q?O9 and FIVMICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

I am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just bad a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 1S or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

e %
Member, Teamster Local Z i
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The T{onorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FNMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

l'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federa! Motar Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742}, requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DW1, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
autherized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only afler the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non~commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

gl g
_Member, Tcmter Local ‘7’( é
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The IHonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Steet, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

{ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. Istrongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than Wﬂwi&nn a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder wauld be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second cenviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 vears later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. .

Please. recansider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

Member, Teamster Local
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The Honorable Nornman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIMICSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. [strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motar Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than wmmwmn a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense accurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own persanal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of cerain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been hath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

/)/W

Member, Teamster K&al 7/ &
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The Honorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FY{CSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

{am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. Istrongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued hy the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWT
offenses or centain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has ditferent laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver iy convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder wauld be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
comrnercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only atter the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non~c0mmercxal drivers’
license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

L L e

Member, Teamster Local /()é
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ arn a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issucd by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admuinistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DW1, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder waould be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period ~ for example, if [ receive mare than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Singsrely,

Member, Teamster Local & A
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Strest, SW

Washiagton, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

l'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers' license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driveris convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period ~ for example, ifl receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -
)

Member, TeamSter Loc:-:Ll 1775 &
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The [Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

{am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. 1 strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued hy the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violatiuns, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a drver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. [n other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if | receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, agaln, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -
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The IHonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Dacket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safery Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ficket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of cerain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non~c0mmercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

Yy

- Member, Teamster Local Z/ u/
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dcar'Secrctary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a membher of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers' license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ficket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in 3ome states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspensian.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someonie who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- ar S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of cerain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges

only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
Hcense revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

~ Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

Tt 7 zﬁwm

Member Teamster L oca.l
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The Tonorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

| am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. Istrongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued hy the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers' license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own persanal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of cerain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. ’

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!,
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The Tonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

{am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain maffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license. '

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
comrercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of cerain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ reczive more than one speeding ticket -
while, agaln, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sx::cﬁzly.

Menber, Teamster %c:ﬂ 2/0
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The T{onorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Departtnent of Transportation
SO0 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIMICSA-2001-9709 and FVMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued hy the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admuinistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain raffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Coangress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercml drivers’
license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State,

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
SO0 Seventh Strest, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMICSA-2001-9709 and FVMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federa! Motor Carrier Safety Admunistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers' license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of centain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW1I offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA’s new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress. which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non~commercml drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

 Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Stincerel
ol e

Member, T::mtez/Local L0E
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The Honorable Normman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. F¥MICSA-2001-9709 and FIVMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 1S or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if | receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

gamster Local ,?ﬂé
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIVICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) it he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver iy convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from cperating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic viclations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress. which
authonzed the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerel

Member, Teamster Local _ 406
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The T{onorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

l'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
yau to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different faws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder wauld be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspensian from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isa't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if I receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress. which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

7

ember, Teamster Local ?fé
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The Tionorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Doacket Nos. FIMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
yau to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admuinistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain wraffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license. ‘

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different taws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver i convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in same states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’'s CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her n0n~c0mmercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

erely, -

s W//
\’gfembcr Teamster Local (/% /
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The IHonorable Normman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federa! Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convictad of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses ar certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- ar S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been hoth convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job ¢ould be at stake!

MLt T

Member, Teamster Local _{ZQQ
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The THonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW :
Washiangton, D.C. 20550

Re: Docket Nos. FMICSA-2001-9709 and FIVICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. Istrongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding tcket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of cerain
traffic viclations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
onlv after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

Ay L Dellyer

Meﬂ}k(e'r, Yeamster Local o U6
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The Honorable Nomman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seveath Sweet, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FIMCSA-2001-9709 and FY{CSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

['am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. [strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) it he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges

only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commerclal drivers’
licenae revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

anccrcly.

Tl e

Member, Teamster Local A Q
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The Honorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FVMICSA-2001-9709 and FIYICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, T could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder waould be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too fac. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revaked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

ﬂ%ﬂwd

Member, Teamster Local l:[ ('Z
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The IHonorable Normman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
S00 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FVICSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revaoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver ig convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 3-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspensian from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from cperating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. [n other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if I am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - far example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authoerized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

Member, Teamster Local jaéz
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The [Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seveath Sweet, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. 1 strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued hy the Federal Motar Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain waffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has ditferent laws for what happens to an individual's
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or S-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who Just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive maore than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of C ongress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV drniving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

Z/M d/%

Member, Teamster Local
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The Tonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

['am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
- drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or S-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic viclations within a 3-year peniod - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been both convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

Wlbion. L Lo

Member, Teamster Local 40
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The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washingtan, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FIMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ 'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 46742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain waffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license,

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
comrmnercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, agaln, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congresa, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges

only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

Mﬂ .
Member, Teamster Local M o (g
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The Honorable Nonman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Deparment of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FIMCSA-2000-7382 .
Dear Secretary Mineta:

{am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

‘Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license. :

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in same states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder waould be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic viclations within a 3-year period ~ far example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket—
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification ofa CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/ber non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. ’

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

100 b S Ao

L\jiember. Teamster Local _¢p L/




[Date] O;/—»/{ -03J

The T{onorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Deparmment of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW
Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles,

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, ifa driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someonc who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- ar S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 1S or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
whilg, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’'s CMV dniving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely, =
i
M ;

ber, Teamseér Local K Do
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The IHonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. F¥MCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

l'am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) it he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if I am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as mere than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in 3ome states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if I receive more than one speeding ticket —
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’

license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely, -

ool

Member, Teamstertoval 494,




[Date] 4 /- /{ -

The Honorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washiagron, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhoad of Teamsters. [ strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) it he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain waffic violatons, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
periad), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DWI offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or S-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too far. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that [ will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if [ receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercxal drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please. reconsider this rule. My job could be at stake!

Sincerely,

Soynan ot S0

Nie?ﬂber Teamster Local __ SUK©D
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The THonorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re: Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FMCSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. 1strongly urge
yau to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 45742), requiring States to revake an individual’s commercial drivers’ license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, I could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of a DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this new rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or 5-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 15 or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own persaonal vehicles isn’t fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certin
traffic violations within a 3-year period - for example, if I receive more than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disquatification of a CDL holder's CMV driving privileges
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State.

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely,
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The Honaorable Norman Mineta

Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
500 Seventh Street, SW

Washington, D.C. 20590

Re:  Docket Nos. FMCSA-2001-9709 and FI¥ICSA-2000-7382
Dear Secretary Mineta:

[ am a truck driver, and a member of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters. I strongly urge
you to reconsider the rule recently issued by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Admunistration
(FMCSA) (67 FR 49742), requiring States to revoke an individual’s commmercial drivers' license
(CDL) if he/she is convicted of certain violations while operating their personal vehicles.

Under this new rule, [ could lose my CDL, and therefore my job, if [ am convicted of two DWI
offenses or certain traffic violations, such as more than one speeding ticket (within a three-year
period), while operating my personal vehicle, regardless of whether my State revokes my personal
drivers’ license.

With respect to the DW] offenses, each State has different laws for what happens to an individual’s
personal drivers license. For example, if a driver is convicted of @ DWI, some states suspend their
license for a year. A second conviction in some states would equate to a 3- or 5-year suspension.
Under this aew rule, a CDL holder would be treated differently that someone who just had a
personal drivers license. Instead of 3- or S-year suspension from a second conviction, a CDL
holder would be barred from operating a CMV for his/her entire lifetime, even if the second
offense occurs 1S or 20 years later. In other words, this rule goes too tar. To take jobs away from
commercial drivers for mistakes they make in their own personal vehicles isn't fair.

Separately, the FMCSA's new rule states that I will lose my CDL if [ am convicted of certain
traffic violations within a 3-year period — for example, if [ receive mare than one speeding ticket -
while, again, operating my personal vehicle. This was clearly not the intent of Congress, which
authorized the FMCSA to require the disqualification of a CDL holder’s CMV dniving privileges.
only after the person has been bath convicted and has had his/her non-commercial drivers’
license revoked, cancelled or suspended by the State. '

Please, reconsider this rule. ¥y job could be at stake!

Sincerely,
mddo
Member, T%bm'ter Local _&o &




